

Subsection 2.- The Canadian Penitentiary Service*

The Penitentiary Service operates under the Penitentiary Act (SC 1960-61, c. 53) and is under the jurisdiction of the Solicitor General of Canada. It is responsible for all federal penitentiary institutions and for the care and training of persons sentenced or committed thereto. The Commissioner of Penitentiaries, under the direction of the Solicitor General, has control and management of the Service and all matters connected therewith. In the year ended Mar. 31, 1967, the federal penitentiary system consisted of six maximum security, six medium security and 15 minimum security institutions, all for males; one prison for women; one maximum security prison camp for males of the Freedomite Doukhobor Sect; one security institution for elderly recidivists; and three Correctional Staff Colleges.

The six maximum security institutions receive inmates sentenced by the courts to imprisonment for terms of from two years to life. These are located at New Westminster, B.C., Prince Albert, Sask., Stony Mountain, Man., Kingston, Ont., St. Vincent de Paul, Que., and Dorchester, N.B. Persons sentenced to penitentiary terms in Newfoundland are held in the provincially operated institution at St. John's, under financial arrangements authorized by Sect. 14 of the Penitentiary Act (SC 1960-61, c. 53).

The medium and minimum security institutions and the camps receive inmates transferred from the maximum security (receiving) institutions on the basis of their suitability for special forms of training, including vocational training. Of the medium security institutions, two—Collins Bay Penitentiary and the Joyceville Institution—are

^{*} Prepared under the direction of A. J. MacLeod, Commissioner of Penitentiaries, Ottawa.